When Phase 1 submissions closed on March 24, 2021, the global competition had received component and integrated prototype solutions that addressed areas such as miniaturization, filtration, xenotransplantation, and regenerative medicine. These innovators are hurtling beyond what is currently possible in treatment to reach for transformative solutions — offering new potential for accelerated breakthroughs.

Meet the judges and technical reviewers

Entrants’ submissions included demonstrated scientific and technical proofs of concept with detailed development plans. The technical reviewers have now completed the first assessment of the eligible submissions against the evaluation criteria and a slate of finalists have been advanced to the judging panel.

The multidisciplinary judging panel — including representation from patients, medical experts, and innovators — brings a range of valuable perspectives to the prize competition. They will recommend up to eight Phase 1 winners from the pool of eligible submissions.

Thank you to the judges for their support of KidneyX’s mission:

  • Emily Levy, Former Head, Fresenius Medical Care Ventures and Founding Principal, Synergy Partners
  • Jean Moody-Williams, Deputy Center Director for the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Ken Hallows, Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, Keck School of Medicine of USC and Director, USC/UKRO Kidney Research Center
  • Derek Forfang, Chair, National Kidney Foundation Kidney Advocacy Committee; Chair, National Kidney Foundation Public Policy Committee; and member, Kidney Health Initiative Patient and Family Partnership Council
  • Dan Tagle, Associate Director for Special Initiatives, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
  • Sang Jin Lee, Associate Professor, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Seila Selimovic, Biologist and Program Manager, Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

And thank you to the technical reviewers who contributed their time and expertise:

  • Bill Polacheck, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Burcin Ekser, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Daniel Gallego Perez, Ph.D, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering, Ohio State University
  • Dominic Raj, M.D., Director, Division of Kidney Diseases and Hypertension, George Washington University School of Medicine
  • Edward Hickey, Vice President and Chair, American Association of Kidney Patients Veterans Health Initiative, United States Marine Corps
  • Eugene Rhee, M.D., Chief, Nephrology Division, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Joseph Gaut, M.D., Ph.D, Associate Professor, Pathology & Immunology and Division Chief, Anatomic and Molecular Pathology, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
  • Ke Du, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • LaQuayia Goldring, Pediatric and Rare Liver Disease Intern, Global Liver Institute, previous transplant patient, and dialysis patient
  • Mark Okusa, M.D., John C. Buchanan Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Chief, Division of Nephrology, and Director, Center for Immunity, Inflammation and Regenerative Medicine, University of Virginia
  • Oliver Wessely, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine, Case Western Reserve School of Medicine
  • Palaniappan Sethu, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Paul Conway, Chair of Policy and Global Affairs, Kidney Research Institute and Immediate Past President, American Association of Kidney Patients 
  • Rajnish Mehrotra, M.D., Professor of Nephrology and Interim Head, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
  • Richard Knight, President, American Association of Kidney Patients
  • Stephen Fadem, M.D., Clinical Professor of Medicine-Nephrology, Baylor College of Medicine
  • ‪Theo Dingemans, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Applied Physical Sciences, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Thomas Hostetter, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
  • Ton Rabelink, M.D., Ph.D, Professor of Internal Medicine, Head, Division of Nephrology, and Head, Department of Internal Medicine, Leiden University
  • Umut Gurkan, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Case School of Engineering

Stay updated on KidneyX

KidneyX expects to announce the Phase 1 winners in late summer 2021, and will award up to $4 million in prizes. Subscribe to the KidneyX newsletter and follow @Kidney_X on Twitter to be alerted about the Phase 1 winner announcement for the Artificial Kidney Prize and to receive future updates.

Sign up for the KidneyX newsletter